Skip to main content

NHCPL Guides Blog

Graphic Novels Part II

by Carla Sarratt on 2018-01-08T08:00:00-05:00 in Literature & the Arts


by Shannon Vaughn, Library Associate, Northeast Library



Jennifer Holm is well known to elementary school readers who love graphic novels. Holm’s “Babymouse” is a hugely-popular, award-winning series that explores the trials and tribulations of elementary school (Bonus: Babymouse heads to middle school in Lights, Camera, Middle School!). For fans of Jennifer Holm, I recommend one of her more serious titles, Sunny Side Up. Sunny is a young girl growing up in the 1970s, and her brother has a drug problem. Not wanting to expose Sunny to the ugly side of recovery, her parents send her away to her grandfather’s retirement community where Sunny spends her summer. Holm does a great job allowing readers to view this family problem through the eyes of a younger sibling. The reader only knows the info Sunny knows, and gets to be frustrated right along with her for not being told the whole story. Despite the heavy theme, Sunny Side Up is a positive story with bright illustrations and a lot of humor. I can’t wait to read the sequel, Swing it, Sunny! It’s in my “to read” pile, but I haven’t got to it yet. Maybe you can check it out from one of the NHCPL locations and let us know what you think!


 Add a Comment



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

Book Banner
Main Library & Law Library 201 Chestnut Street • Wilmington, NC 28401 • Phone 910-798-6301 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5 (NC Room Closed)
Northeast Regional Library 1241 Military Cutoff Road • Wilmington, NC 28405 • Phone 910-798-6371 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5
Myrtle Grove Library 5155 South College Road • Wilmington, NC 28412 • Phone 910-798-6391 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5
Pleasure Island Library 1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard • Carolina Beach, NC 28428 • Phone 910-798-6385 • Hours M-Th 9-6 Fri 9-5 Sat 9-1 Sun Closed