Skip to main content

CLASS Project

Connecting Libraries and Schools for Success!

Information for Parents

Success in School Starts with Reading

Being able to read is critical for learning in all subject areas.  To become proficient readers, young children need exposure to a wide variety of books and a book sharing routine with their family.

Parents, you are your child's first teachers and New Hanover County Public Library is here to support you! Visit the public library after school and on weekends to:

  • Get book recommendations from librarians to meet your child’s needs
  • Choose from over 113,000 books for children
  • Use ABCMouse.com from a library computer

 

ABC Mouse

With 3500+ interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities, ABCmouse's award-winning online curriculum is an invaluable resource for young learners ages 2-6+.  ABC Mouse is only available from the library computers.

 

Did you know?

  • Children who are proficient readers by the end of third grade are more likely to be successful in high school.
  • The Children’s Reading Foundation recommends parents read with their school age children 20 minutes a day.
  • Reading two different library books every week is free; buying them would cost around $1040 each year.

 

Library Research Skills Are Essential to Success in Middle School

The Internet has changed the way students find information and complete homework; you need more than encyclopedias and the Dewey Decimal System. Don’t waste time searching Google trying to find SAFE and reliable TEACHER-APPROVED sources - use NHC Public Library resources and databases instead. Databases have information from magazines, newspapers, journals, and eBooks. Librarians can help after school and on weekends in person, on the phone, and via email.

 

Why use library databases for research?

  • Available online 24 hours a day and 7 days a week from home, school, and the library
  • Most database sources link to Google Drive, include citations, and have read aloud and language translation options
  • Students can research safely without being exposed to ads and unreliable sources

 

Did you know?

  • According to Stanford University's 2016 report, Evaluating Information: The Cornerstone of Civic Online Reasoning, many middle school students can’t distinguish a paid ad on the internet from a real news story.
  • The NC Department of Public Instruction expects middle school students to be able to, use appropriate technology tools and other resources to access information (search engines, electronic databases, digital magazine articles).

NHC Public Library: The Best Source to Prepare for Graduation, College, and Employment

The Internet has changed the way students find information and complete homework; you need more than encyclopedias and the Dewey Decimal System. Don’t waste time searching Google trying to find SAFE and reliable TEACHER-APPROVED sources - use NHC Public Library resources and databases instead. Databases have information from magazines, newspapers, journals, and eBooks. Librarians can help afterschool and on weekends in person, on the phone, and via email.

 

How can the library help you prepare for graduation, college, and employment?

  • Complete research assignments efficiently with databases that link to Google Drive, include citations, and have read aloud and language translation options
  • Free test prep including eBooks, practice tests, and online courses – AP, SAT, ACT, ASVAB and more
  • Free online tools to help choose a career and edit resumes
  • Use library computers to complete and submit college applications

 

Did you know?

  • In college students will be required to use library databases for research.
  • Some companies charge $600-$1,200 for SAT/ACT test prep courses; library databases provide test prep for free.

All NHCS students are automatically enrolled in this program. Your child’s school ID number is now a “virtual library card number” which can be used to access public library materials and services.   Just type in the school ID number any time you’re asked for a library card number.  A few NHCPL services require a PIN in addition to a card number; the default PIN is the last 4 digits of the student ID number.

If you do not want your child to have access to public library resources, you may opt out. Click the link below for an opt-out form, which you can print out, sign, and return to any library branch.  Be aware that students who opt out of CLASS Project will not be able to participate in classroom use of library resources unless they have a New Hanover County Public Library card and know the full card number and PIN. 

Download the 2017-18 parent letter and opt-out form

Optional: Print the template below to write in name and student ID number for any student who needs help remembering their number.

Q: Why isn't my child's student ID number working? What should I do?

A: First, ask a library staff member to confirm the information we have for your child. If you opted out of having your child's information shared, then the library did not receive your child's information and cannot create a virtual account. Check with the data manager at your child's school to see if your child is listed as "opting out."  If you wish to change your child's status that must be done through the school. New students and updates to student information are added monthly.

Loading ...
Book Banner
Main Library & Law Library 201 Chestnut Street • Wilmington, NC 28401 • Phone 910-798-6301 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5 (NC Room Closed)
Northeast Regional Library 1241 Military Cutoff Road • Wilmington, NC 28405 • Phone 910-798-6371 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5
Myrtle Grove Library 5155 South College Road • Wilmington, NC 28412 • Phone 910-798-6391 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5
Pleasure Island Library 1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard • Carolina Beach, NC 28428 • Phone 910-798-6385 • Hours M-Th 9-6 Fri 9-5 Sat 9-1 Sun Closed