Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Things: Home

NHCPL's Library of Things is a collection of items for loan that expands the boundaries of traditionally defined library materials. Check out kits for children and families, kits for adultsgames, and more!

Lifelong Learning Kits

NHCPL's Lifelong Learning Kits are designed to help you build a new set of skills at any age. They feature the tools and books you need to get started learning about a new hobby or subject. Lifelong Learning Kits are made possible by a LEAD grant from the Friends of the New Hanover County Library.

Museum Passes

Cape Fear Museum Pass

Notebook includes a Cape Fear Museum pass good for admission of up to two adults and four children. The pass is valid for programs which are included with the price of museum admission, but is not valid for special events that require a fee.

The Children's Museum of Wilmington Pass

Notebook includes a FREE FAMILY FUN PASS to the Children's Museum of Wilmington.
Notebook also includes brochures for museum.

Get outside and play with these kits!

Bocce Kit

Includes: 1 copy of book The Joy of Bocce, 8 bocce balls, 1 pallino ball, 1 tape measure, instructions.

Metal Detector Kit

Includes: Metal Detector, Trowel, Rake, Instructions.

Disc Golf Kit

Includes: 2 driver discs, 2 mid range discs, 2 putter discs, instructions.

NEW KIT: Hurricane Heroes

The Hurricane Heroes project is a collaboration by UNCW MarineQuest and AmeriCorps that aims to promote emergency preparedness and coastal resiliency.

Hurricane Heroes Kit 1

Contains activities that involve building instruments that measure the weather and reading hurricane weather graphs. Families will measure wind speed, air temperature, humidity, and air pressure in their backyard!

Hurricane Heroes Kit 2

Contains activities that involve building a hurricane in a bottle, tracking a hurricane’s path and strength, and observing the effect of wind speed on engineered coastal homes!

Hurricane Heroes Kit 3

Contains activities that look at the impacts of flooding. Families will build a Hog Farm Lagoon, create a marsh in a pan, find their evacuation route, and make an emergency kit!

Portable DVD Players

Main Library & Law Library
201 Chestnut Street
Wilmington, NC 28401

Northeast Regional Library
1241 Military Cutoff Road
Wilmington, NC 28405

Pine Valley Library
3802 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28412

Pleasure Island Library
1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard
Carolina Beach, NC 28428

Call (910) 798-6300
Hours: Monday-Thursday 10 am - 7 pm
Friday-Saturday 10 am - 5 pm
Sunday 1 - 5 pm