Skip to main content

NHCPL Guides Blog

Graphic Novels Part II

by Hannah Bowser on 2018-01-08T08:00:00-05:00 in Literature & the Arts | Comments

 

by Shannon Vaughn, Library Associate, Northeast Library

 

 

Jennifer Holm is well known to elementary school readers who love graphic novels. Holm’s “Babymouse” is a hugely-popular, award-winning series that explores the trials and tribulations of elementary school (Bonus: Babymouse heads to middle school in Lights, Camera, Middle School!). For fans of Jennifer Holm, I recommend one of her more serious titles, Sunny Side Up. Sunny is a young girl growing up in the 1970s, and her brother has a drug problem. Not wanting to expose Sunny to the ugly side of recovery, her parents send her away to her grandfather’s retirement community where Sunny spends her summer. Holm does a great job allowing readers to view this family problem through the eyes of a younger sibling. The reader only knows the info Sunny knows, and gets to be frustrated right along with her for not being told the whole story. Despite the heavy theme, Sunny Side Up is a positive story with bright illustrations and a lot of humor. I can’t wait to read the sequel, Swing it, Sunny! It’s in my “to read” pile, but I haven’t got to it yet. Maybe you can check it out from one of the NHCPL locations and let us know what you think!

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Main Library & Law Library
201 Chestnut Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
Phone 910-798-6300

Northeast Regional Library
1241 Military Cutoff Road
Wilmington, NC 28405
Phone 910-798-6370

Pine Valley Library
3802 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28412
Phone 910-798-6390

Pleasure Island Library
1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard
Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Phone 910-798-6380

Hours: Monday-Tuesday 9 am - 8 pm
Wednesday-Thursday 9 am - 6 pm
Friday-Saturday 9am - 5 pm
Sunday 1-5 (NC Room Closed)