Skip to Main Content

Legal Resources

Branches of Federal Government

The Executive Branch is responsible for implementing and enforcing the laws. This branch consists of the President, Vice President, Cabinet, and many other departments and agencies.

The Cabinet

The President is also supported by the Cabinet who serve as his advisors and lead the executive departments that are responsible for enforcing and administrating federal laws.

The Judicial Branch, consisting of the Supreme Court and other federal courts, was entrusted with administering impartial justice. This branch is responsible for determining if a law is unconstitutional, interpreting the laws, and applying the law to different cases.

Congress also created three legislative or Article I courts, which are the U.S Court of Appeals for Veteran Claims, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, and the U.S. Tax Court. These courts do not have full judicial power.

The Legislative Branch is responsible for creating legislation, declaring war, and confirming or rejecting presidential appointments. This branch includes Congress and several supportive agencies.

Main Library & Law Library
201 Chestnut Street
Wilmington, NC 28401

Northeast Regional Library
1241 Military Cutoff Road
Wilmington, NC 28405

Pine Valley Library
3802 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28412

Pleasure Island Library
1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard
Carolina Beach, NC 28428

Call (910) 798-6300
Hours: Monday-Thursday 10 am - 7 pm
Friday-Saturday 10 am - 5 pm
Sunday 1 - 5 pm