Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Things: Home

NHCPL's Library of Things is a collection of items for loan that expands the boundaries of traditionally defined library materials. Check out our fun and educational kits, games, and more!

New Kits!

Memory Care Kits! 

From puzzles and games to sensory and reminiscence aids, these kits offer a wide range of memory care products that bring joy and engagement to people at any stage. Books and caregiver information included.

Bocce Kit

Includes: 1 copy of book The Joy of Bocce, 8 bocce balls, 1 pallino ball, 1 tape measure, instructions.

Metal Detector Kit

Includes: Metal Detector, Trowel, Rake, Instructions.

Disc Golf Kit

Includes: 2 driver discs, 2 mid range discs, 2 putter discs, instructions.

Portable DVD Players

Includes: DVD Player, Power Cable, Car Adapter, AV Cable, Quickstart Guide, Manual.

Lifelong Learning Kits

NHCPL's Lifelong Learning Kits are designed to help you build a new set of skills at any age. They feature the tools and books you need to get started learning about a new hobby or subject.

Lifelong Learning Kits are made possible by a LEAD grant from the Friends of the New Hanover County Library.

Museum Passes

Cape Fear Museum Pass

Notebook includes a Cape Fear Museum pass good for admission of up to two adults and four children. The pass is valid for programs which are included with the price of museum admission, but is not valid for special events that require a fee.

The Children's Museum of Wilmington Pass

Notebook includes a FREE FAMILY FUN PASS to the Children's Museum of Wilmington.
Notebook also includes brochures for museum.

Biodegradable Beach Bundle

Explorer Kits

ecoEXPLORE Discovery Packs contain the tools to help borrowers get started with bird-watching, bug-watching, frog-watching, or any other wildlife you wish to explore! 

PATH is North Carolina's Parks and Trails for Health program. The goal of the PATH Outdoor Explorer Packs is to create a fun, semi-structured outdoor learning experience for families that involves physical movement outdoors through multiple disciplines. The PATH Outdoor Explorer Packs feature nature and outdoor-based activities that are fun and educational for all ages! 

Self-Starter Kits

The Self-Starter Kits were created to provide general information about each stated subject area. We have provided both print resources and a list of online resources to make it easier for you to access the information in a format you prefer. We have also provided some sample forms to help you prepare for filling out the paperwork that each process may require. 

CPR Kits

CPR Anytime Kits allow you to learn basic lifesaving skills in about 20 minutes. The Infant CPR Anytime personal learning program makes it possible for anyone to learn how to perform infant CPR and provide infant choking relief. Adult & Child CPR Anytime allows anyone to master the basics of adult Hands-Only CPR, child CPR with breaths, adult and child choking relief, and general awareness of automated external defibrillators – or AEDs.

Dungeons & Dragons Kit

Social/Emotional Kits

NHCPL's Juvenile Social/Emotional Kits feature "grab and go" collections of 5 picture books to support social and emotional development in young children. Each kit focuses on one topic to encourage empathy and kindness, and to help preschool to primary audiences think about grief and anger.

Juvenile Story Kits

NHCPL's Juvenile Story Kits feature "grab and go" collections of picture books on popular topics for preschool to primary audiences, plus an information sheet including story extenders and an inventory list, in a zippered canvas tote bag.

Financial Literacy Kits

The financial literacy kits were funded by an early childhood financial literacy grant from the PNC Foundation, with contents selected and assembled by NHCPL staff.

Main Library & Law Library
201 Chestnut Street
Wilmington, NC 28401

Northeast Regional Library
1241 Military Cutoff Road
Wilmington, NC 28405

Pine Valley Library
3802 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28412

Pleasure Island Library
1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard
Carolina Beach, NC 28428

Call (910) 798-6300
Hours: Monday-Thursday 10 am - 7 pm
Friday-Saturday 10 am - 5 pm
Sunday 1 - 5pm